Staff

Eager Staff Image

The staff will help you design a practical experiment and train you to use the equipment. You are not expected to master every function of the instruments and can ask for help at any time, whether it be in using the equipment or the design of your experiment.

You may also choose to contract the labour content of your project to the staff. If so, please contact Allan Mitchell in the first instance to discuss options for EM projects or Andrew McNaughton for confocal or ÁCT projects.

Timing: Don't wait until the last minute to ask for advice. Even if your project is months away from using the Microscopy facility it's good practice to learn of any potential pitfalls early on.


Allan Mitchell

Allan Mitchell

Allan manages the electron microscope side of things and is your first point of contact for a new EM project.

Contact details: allan.mitchell@anatomy.otago.ac.nz Phone 03 479 5642


Dr. Mihnea Bostina

Mihnea Bostina

Mihnea is the Academic Director of the OCEM and a senior lecturer in Microbiology. His research interest is the structural biology of viruses and single particle reconstruction.

Contact details: Phone 03 479 7301 (OCEM Unit)


Richard Easingwood

Richard Easingwood

Transmission electron microscopy including:

Contact details: richard.easingwood@otago.ac.nz Phone 03 479 7301

Gillian Grayston

Gillian Mawdsley

Electron Microscopy including:

Contact details: gillian.grayston@anatomy.otago.ac.nz Phone 03 479 7301

Liz Girvan

Liz Girvan

Scanning electron microscopy including:

Contact details: liz.girvan@otago.ac.nz Phone 03 479 7386

Sharon Lequeux

Sharon Lequeux

Electron microscopy including:

Contact details: Sharon.lequeux@anatomy.otago.ac.nz

Sharon is a part-time staff member and can be contacted on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays.

Marianne Negrini*

Marianne Negrini

Contact details: marianne.negrini@otago.ac.nz SEM lab Phone: 03 4716097 Office Phone: 03 4797507

*Marianne is a technician for the Department of Geology.

Andrew McNaughton

Andrew McNaughton

Andrew manages the confocal and ÁCT facility and is the person to approach regarding using these techniques.

Confocal Microscopy and ÁCT including:

Please go to this link for more information on the OCCM or contacting Andrew


Maria Chapman

Accounts
Contact details: ocem.accounts@anatomy.otago.ac.nz

* Maria is a part-time staff member and can be contacted on Mondays and Wednesdays.



Management Committee

The Management Committee are responsible for developing a business plan and budget for the OCEM.

Chairperson of the Management Committee: Associate Professor Dorothy Oorschot
Contact details: dorothy.oorschot@stonebow.otago.ac.nz



Users Group

The Users Group consists of members that represent Departments that use the OCEM and advises the OCEM Management Committee on direction and strategy. The OCEM Users Group meets every two months.

Chairperson of the Users Group: Associate Professor Paul Guy (Department of Botany)
Contact details: paul.guy@otago.ac.nz